Andhra Pradesh and Odisha to Welcome New Chief Ministers Today, PM Modi to Attend

After Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony in Delhi, the focus now shifts to Andhra Pradesh and Odisha, where people will welcome their new chief ministers on Wednesday. Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader N Chandrababu Naidu will take oath as Andhra Pradesh CM, while tribal leader Mohan Charan Majhi will be sworn in as Odisha CM today.

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu is poised to be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the fourth time on Wednesday. Along with Naidu, other leaders, including actor-turned-politician and Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan, who is anticipated to become the Deputy Chief Minister, will also take oath today. Besides Prime Minister Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah will attend Naidu’s swearing-in ceremony.

This marks Chandrababu Naidu’s fourth term as Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. In the recent state assembly elections, Naidu led the Telugu Desam Party to a significant victory, securing 135 out of 175 Assembly seats. TDP’s allies, Janasena and BJP, won 21 and 8 seats respectively.

Following the swearing-in ceremony in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha will also witness the oath-taking event of Chief Minister-designate Mohan Charan Majhi in the evening. Majhi, a four-time MLA, was chosen as the leader of the BJP Legislature Party on Tuesday. The 52-year-old politician is a significant tribal leader in the coastal state. Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Pravati Parida will serve as his deputies.

The BJP has also invited former Chief Minister and BJD leader Naveen Patnaik. Patnaik’s 24-year tenure as Chief Minister ended after the BJP’s significant victory over his BJD party in the state election. The BJP secured 78 seats in the 147-member Assembly, while the BJD garnered 51 seats.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top