Narendra Modi to Begin Third Term as Prime Minister, Swearing-In Ceremony Today

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be sworn in for a third consecutive term today, marking the beginning of his third term in office. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 7:15 p.m. at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), won 286 seats in the recent Lok Sabha elections, falling short of the 272 majority mark. However, the BJP won 240 seats on its own, enough to form a government with the support of its allies.

Modi’s swearing-in ceremony will be attended by leaders from seven South Asian and Indian Ocean region countries, as well as several other dignitaries.

On June 7, President Droupadi Murmu formally invited Modi to form the next government after the NDA’s Parliamentary Party elected him as its leader. Speaking at the NDA parliamentary party meeting, Modi said that mutual trust was at the core of this alliance, which is committed to the principle of ‘sarv pantha sambhava (all sects are equal)’. Claiming that NDA partners were all known for good governance, he noted that the alliance was forming a government at the Centre at a time when its members were also in power in 22 States.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top