Odisha Assembly Elections 2024: BJP Poised to End Naveen Patnaik’s 24-Year Rule

After a long and remarkable 24-year reign, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik’s tenure in Odisha is approaching its end. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), with its aggressive campaign, has emerged as the frontrunner in forming the next government in the state. As of 8 p.m., the BJP had secured 35 seats, with a significant lead in another 42 constituencies. To form a government in the 147-member Odisha Legislative Assembly, a party must secure a minimum of 74 seats. The BJP’s promising performance can be attributed to several factors, including strong anti-incumbency sentiments among voters and widespread resentment against the influence of former bureaucrat V.K. Pandian in governance and party affairs under the outgoing Biju Janata Dal (BJD) regime.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top